Take Control Of Your Location History On Google Maps

Author Natallia Slimani 24.2.2015. | 23:58

 

google-trackerr

Google is great in a way that it is always eager to make our lives simpler. It remembers what we search for, keeps our history and saves us lots of typing work overtime. All of this is great, but what if you don’t actually want to keep your search history saved for privacy, space, or, basically, any other reason? In this post we’ll tell you how to clear your search history in the app and on the web when using Google Maps. Here we go.

We start off by making a few changes in your Google Maps applications right on your phone (even though for taking complete control of your map data, you will have to log into your Google account on the web).

So what can you do right from the app? For instance – clear out individual locations in your map history. Start up your Maps app and get into Settings, by swiping in from the left. Then, head over to Maps History – and you will see a list of all the items saved. You will also see an X next to watch one of them – and yes – you will have to tap on it to remove an item you’d like to no longer be taking up space in your Maps History. Once that is done, the deleted items will no longer be shown as a suggested search in the search bar.

If you are looking for just deleting individual items, that would work just fine. But if you want to make more substantial map history changes, you will have to turn to the web and log into your Google Account. Once you are signed in, head right over to Google Location History Dashboard and you will see all the places where your device has been. You can go through all the spots one by one, reliving your recent travels and even see the time that you visited each one. All of this will only be possible if you have enabled Google Location Reporting on your phone. Whether you want to see all your locations stored or prefer to avoid Google having all that information, you can enable or disable the feature in question. To do this, go back to your phone and fire up the Google Maps app. Go to Settings>Location and look for an entry, titled Google Location Reporting. There you will see two services that you can either enable or disable: Location Reporting (the one that lets Google now where your phone is at this very moment) and Location History (which creates a log of places that your phone has visited.).

What does enabling these options mean? You already know that Location History lets Google save your locations for late use and gives you more accuracy in search results on Google maps.

Location Reporting can give you access to location-based information and updates without turning on the GPS. So, say, you are walking by a store – with Location Reporting on, you may get the info on the current deals and sales happening at this time.

If you feel like Google doesn’t need to know all that about you, remember that turning off one of the two features will not automatically turn off the other. So if you have Location Reporting disabled, your Location History feature will still be on and you will have to turn it off individually.

So think about which setting would make you happy and take control of your location data on Google.

By the way, have you heard that you can now use Google Maps even if you are offline? Read more about it in How To Save Google Maps For Offline Use.

Author Natallia Slimani 24.2.2015. | 23:58
Write a comment

1 Comment

  1. Yanuar Adi March 24, 22:35

    Very usefull info, I will try this.

View comments

Write a comment

Leave a Reply

Watch latest gadget videos

Chinavasion Video


action cam

Add Chinavasion on Google+

Add Chinavasion on Facebook

Archive