Your Secret’s Safe With Google. How To Clear Your Chrome Browsing Data On Android

Author Natallia Slimani 11.12.2014. | 23:44

ChromeClearHistory2

Why you may be considering clearing your Chrome’s data is none of our business. Our business is to make sure you can do it smoothly, keep your privacy protected and sleep soundly without worrying about your friends going through the photos you recently “liked” on Instagram.

Here’s an easy step-by-step guide on how to clear your Chrome browsing data.

  1. Open Chrome and at the top of the screen, next to where you type in the web address, you will see three dots. These three dots are the Overflow Menu – and that is what you need to clear your data.
  2. Find and click on History. There you will see all the websites you have recently visited. You can click on X and choose specific websites you want to disappear or go to the very bottom of the page and tap on Clear Browsing Data.
  3. Here things get a bit more “choicy” – i.e. you will be presented with a number of options.

Clear Browsing History: By choosing this option you will just erase the websites from your history. Most of the time, this should do the trick if your goal is just to hide the pages you have viewed recently.

Clear Cache: This option goes a step further and gets rid of all the temporary files that the browser has been saving. Clearing the cache can sometimes help speed up your browser, if a lot of such files are stored.

Clear cookies, site data: As you probably know, cookies are small text files that store information about your online session, including preferences, log-in details and more. Some people choose to delete their cookies weekly for privacy protection issues or to prevent others from getting accidental access to the data.

Clear saved passwords: Clicking this feature will mean you’ll have to log into all your accounts manually and the password (say, for Facebook) will not automatically show up when you open the app or page. So if that could be a source of annoyance for you – you may want to reconsider.

Clear autofill data: This last option will erase the convenience of some data (like name or email address) being filled in automatically – for example when you are signing up for a newsletter or filling in an online application.

Once you’ve made up your mind as to exactly how much you want to erase, go ahead and tap on Clear. Now your phone is a clean slate and your website preferences will stay hidden from prying eyes.

Check out our How To Guides section for more helpful tips.

Author Natallia Slimani 11.12.2014. | 23:44
Write a comment

No Comments

No Comments Yet!

Let me tell You a sad story ! There are no comments yet, but You can be first one to comment this article.

Write a comment
View comments

Write a comment

Leave a Reply

Watch latest gadget videos

Chinavasion Video


action cam

Add Chinavasion on Google+

Add Chinavasion on Facebook

Archive